Commons defends penalty decision
Celtic forward Kris Commons was accused of diving to win the penalty at Raith Rovers on Sunday afternoon.
|"There was definite contact with my right foot" - Kris Commons|
"That was the pivotal moment. I don't think it was a penalty," Mensing told The Scotsman. "Commons was doing it during the game. He is a clever player. The referee got that one wrong. Commons went down too easily and I know that for a fact. I'm really disappointed with it."
However, Commons confirmed that he had definitely been tripped for Celtic's opening goal on what proved a very difficult playing surface.
"Mensing tripped me up in the box. That is something you can't do," he insisted. "If he got a bit of the ball, fair enough, but he did not. There was definite contact with my right foot."
Substitute James Forrest and Joe Ledley later added further efforts as the SPL leaders booked a quarter-final tie at St Mirren.
|LATEST ON THE VITAL CELTIC FORUMS ...|
Win FREE pizza with Vital Football!
Select your team and get 50% off if they score twice.